College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

Worldwide impact: Two engineering faculty selected for Jefferson Science Fellows Program

Two Iowa State University College of Engineering faculty members have been selected for the 2021-2022 Jefferson Science Fellows Program. Ramesh Kanwar, Charles F. Curtiss Distinguished Professor in Agriculture and Life Sciences in the agricultural and biosystems engineering department, and Richard LeSar, professor of materials science and engineering department, will spend one year on assignment at …Continue reading “Worldwide impact: Two engineering faculty selected for Jefferson Science Fellows Program”

Professor’s passion for civil engineering lives on through generous scholarship

Friends, family memorialize efforts of late ISU civil engineering faculty member Not many people say they have a passion for Portland Cement Concrete Pavement, but James (Jim) Cable did. The Iowa State University (ISU) civil engineering professor was a dedicated teacher and researcher. It’s this dedication that family, friends and industry partners want to memorialize …Continue reading “Professor’s passion for civil engineering lives on through generous scholarship”

ABE graduate student awarded the David L. Calderwood Fellowship

Alyvia Steenhoek, a graduate student studying sustainable agriculture, is the recipient of the David L. Calderwood Fellowship.

IMSE students and faculty receive IISE awards

Two industrial engineering graduate students were recently awarded fellowships from their field’s largest professional society. Enrique Alameda, a MS student in IE, and Srikanthan Ramesh, a PhD student in IE, were awarded the Gilbreth Memorial Fellowship for the 2018-19 academic year from the Institute of Industrial and Systems Engineers (IISE). The fellowship includes a $3000 stipend …Continue reading “IMSE students and faculty receive IISE awards”

AerE student Michaela Spaulding selected as a Brooke Owens Fellow

Michaela Spaulding, a junior in aerospace engineering, was selected as a Brooke Owens Fellow for 2017. The Brooke Owens Fellowship Program is an organization that offers internships at leading aviation and space companies for women seeking careers in aviation or space exploration. Spaulding was one of 36 recipients of the fellowship, and will intern at …Continue reading “AerE student Michaela Spaulding selected as a Brooke Owens Fellow”

Two-time Eisenhower Fellow earns national recognition for research

Master’s student excels during Transportation Research Board presentation Patricia Thompson is not just a two-time Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellow. This month, the transportation engineering master’s student earned best oral presentation at the 2017 Transportation Research Showcase. “Receiving the award means, to me at least, that I was able to make people take an interest …Continue reading “Two-time Eisenhower Fellow earns national recognition for research”

Jiles named Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales

David C. Jiles, Palmer Endowed Chair of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering at Iowa State University, is among the new Fellows elected to the Learned Society of Wales in 2016. LSW Fellows are distinguished men and women from all branches of learning who are prominent figures within their respective academic disciplines or professions. The …Continue reading “Jiles named Fellow of the Learned Society of Wales”

Sundararajan named ASME Fellow

Sriram Sundararajan, a mechanical engineering professor at Iowa State, has been named a Fellow of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers. The title of “Fellow” is only awarded to 2.5% of ASME members. ASME cited Sundararajan’s selection because he is “an outstanding researcher and dedicated mechanical engineering educator.” His research on tribology and surface engineering …Continue reading “Sundararajan named ASME Fellow”

Anderson named to National Academy of Inventors

Story originally published by The Ames Laboratory AMES, IA  – U.S. Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory senior metallurgist and Iowa State University adjunct professor in materials science and engineering Iver Anderson has been named a Fellow of the National Academy of Inventors (NAI). The NAI Fellows Selection Committee credited Anderson for demonstrating a “highly prolific …Continue reading “Anderson named to National Academy of Inventors”

Provost’s office selects fellows for ISU Advance and faculty recognition program

The Office of the Senior Vice President and Provost has selected Lisa Larson and Surya Mallapragada for faculty fellowships for 2015-17. “Lisa and Surya are highly respected faculty leaders who will do an outstanding job serving their colleagues,” said Dawn Bratsch-Prince, associate provost for faculty. “Their efforts to enhance faculty development and recognition will have a significant impact on the university.”

Sneha Singh receives IBM PhD Fellowship

by Thane Himes Sneha Singh, PhD student in computer engineering, received the prestigious IBM PhD Fellowship for the 2013-14 academic year. She earned this award for her extensive research in stream processing. While she is thankful for the award, she also feels motivated. “This award has opened several avenues for me and I have to …Continue reading “Sneha Singh receives IBM PhD Fellowship”

Sarah Ryan named 2013 IIE Fellow

Sarah Ryan, professor of industrial and manufacturing systems engineering, was recognized as an Institute of Industrial Engineers Fellow at the annual conference, which took place May 18-22 in Puerto Rico this year. The IIE names up to 20 fellows each year, requiring that their contributions to industrial engineering be recognized on a national scale. Ryan …Continue reading “Sarah Ryan named 2013 IIE Fellow”

David Holger named AIAA Fellow

                  David Holger has been named to the prestigious rank of Fellow by the American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA). Holger is a professor of aerospace engineering, associate provost for academic programs, and dean of the graduate college at Iowa State. The award will be in …Continue reading “David Holger named AIAA Fellow”

Jiles named Honorary Fellow

David Jiles, distinguished professor and Palmer endowed chair of electrical and computer engineering, traveled to Chennai, India, to receive recognition as the 2011 elected Honorary Fellow of the Indian Society for Non-Destructive Testing (ISNT). Jiles was elected for his work on magnetic methods for non-destructive evaluation (NDE). Over the last ten years, he has collaborated …Continue reading “Jiles named Honorary Fellow”

Two ECpE professors named IEEE Fellows

Based on their excellent contributions to electrical and computer engineering research, two Iowa State Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECpE) professors have been named 2012 Fellows of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Chris Chu, associate professor, and Ahmed Kamal, professor, officially join the ranks of the distinguished IEEE Fellows in January 2012. The …Continue reading “Two ECpE professors named IEEE Fellows”