Author: Cyclone Engineering

Nanoscale sensors to better see how high pressure affects materials

Valery Levitas is a co-author of two papers published within weeks by the high-profile journal Science. Levitas, Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering, the Vance Coffman Faculty Chair and professor in aerospace engineering, specializes in experimental testing and computational modeling of high-pressure mechanics, physics and mechanochemistry.

Balaji Narasimhan named National Academy of Inventors fellow

The National Academy of Inventors is adding Cyclone Engineer Balaji Narasimhan to its roster of academy fellows. The academy announced it is recognizing Narasimhan, an Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering, the Vlasta Klima Balloun Faculty Chair and the director of Iowa State’s Nanovaccine Institute, for demonstrating “a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on the quality of life, economic development, and welfare of society.”

Dean of engineering message regarding campus climate

President Wendy Wintersteen recently sent two letters to the campus community condemning racist acts at Iowa State University. A forum was held on Nov.7 with Students Against Racism in which the ISU leadership team outlined 10 actions to help address the campus climate. I want you to know I am strongly supportive of these actions and expect our students, faculty and staff to join me in also condemning racism, white supremacy, anti-Semitism and xenophobia.

CCEE grad student 2018 PEGASAS student of the year

Sajed Sadati (center) received the 2018 Student of the Year for Outstanding Achievement in Aviation Research Award from the Partnership to Enhance General Aviation Safety, Accessibility and Sustainability. Sadati, who is a graduate student in WHAT, was honored for his work on the PEGASAS heated pavement project.

Iowa State bids farewell to ISU ABE professor of 50 years

Agricultural and biosystems engineering professor announces his departure from Iowa State University (ISU) after outstanding career After 50 years at ISU, University Professor Carl Bern has announced his retirement. His research focused on storage, preservation and applications of grains and oilseeds. With projects in Honduras, Tanzania, Uganda and India, Bern’s work explores appropriate storage containers … Continue reading Iowa State bids farewell to ISU ABE professor of 50 years