College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

College of Engineering News

    • Holographic hard hats ahead: Cyclone Engineers break into the third dimension of structural design

      Civil engineering sophomore Liam Lenahan and assistant professor Roy Sturgill are working together to bring the third dimension into structural design. The two are bringing 3D projects into the classroom through a very ‘construction-style’ medium: hard hats. 

    • The ISU MA Chapter standing together in a group photo. Excellence Award goes to ISU Material Advantage Chapter

      The Iowa State University Material Advantage (MA) Chapter won a Chapter of Excellence Award from the international student program at the 2022 annual Materials Science and Technology Conference held in Pittsburgh last October.

    • Cyclone Engineering leaders of SHPE Andres Ceballos and Roxanna Arreola Inspirando a la próxima generación de ingenieros Hispanos

      Cyclone Engineering leaders of the Iowa State chapter of the Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers (SHPE) are dedicated to two goals: serving as a resource for Hispanic engineering students – and broadening the Hispanic community’s participation in STEM. 

    • Dr. Sarah D. Nelson Sara Nelson named Iowa Space Grant Consortium director

      The Iowa Space Grant Consortium (ISGC) has announced Dr. Sara D. Nelson as its new director. The NASA-supported agency is part of Iowa State’s Department of Aerospace Engineering and works to improve and inspire Iowa’s involvement in Science, Technology, Engineering and Math (STEM) education.

    • ISU Power Pullers: pushing the edge of innovation

      The Department of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering is a hub for student organizations. Competing around the country, the department clubs are well known for creating a student experience that builds community, networks and experience.

    • MSE senior makes scholarship history

      Materials Science and Engineering (MSE) senior Ricardo Ortega made history as the first ever Iowa State student to be selected to receive the prestigious Copper Club Scholarship.

    • How much vehicle weight can highways withstand? Yongsung Koh receives award for highway resilience research

      How much pressure can a road withstand? Of all the roads and highways we drive on – when will they crack? That’s what Yongsung Koh, a doctoral student in the Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering, is working hard to figure out.

    • George Burnet V, 1924-2023 George Burnet, one of CBE’s most influential figures, passes away

      A pillar in the history of the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering has passed away. George Burnet V, who progressed from student to faculty member to department chair over a span of more than 60 years, died January 13 at the age of 98.

    • ECpE makes Fortune’s best cybersecurity master’s degree list

      A way to address the talent gap in expertise is with master’s degree programs. To help guide those people looking to launch their career in this fast-growing space, Fortune has ranked the top in-person master’s degree programs in cybersecurity in 2023.

    • Welcoming ABE’s new advisor: Jordan Smith

      The Department of Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering (ABE) is excited to welcome Jordan Smith to the department as the new Agricultural Systems Technology (AST) advisor. With a background in higher education and human services, Jordan is blending his passion for education with his care for students’ growth and advancement.

    • Unlocking cell communication using biotronics

      The Department of Defense has recently awarded Cyclone Engineers Reza Montazami and Nicole Hashemi a project exploring a novel approach to investigate cells’ bioelectric activities.

    • MSE alumnus helps next generation of materials science engineers

      Auliff always felt an affinity toward chemistry and physics, and after falling in love with the park-like atmosphere of Iowa State’s Central Campus on a visit during high school, he started evaluating different engineering departments. MSE was the ideal fit for him.

    • Illustration of a ham, a cucumber, a lettuce salad, a glass of water, a beer, and a slided sweet potato on a cutting board. On the menu: Engineering for your next meal 

      Packaging reprocessed Xianglan Bai, associate professor of mechanical engineering, leads an interdisciplinary team developing new hybrid, plasma-based recycling technologies to convert plastic films from food products into biodegradable polymers.  Safer food sensors Carmen Gomes, associate professor of mechanical engineering, was the first to develop a platinum interdigitated microelectrode biosensor to detect listeria contamination in hydroponic lettuce growing facilities on-site and in real-time.  Science of suds Beer brewer and Distinguished Professor of mechanical engineering Robert C. Brown teaches a new Science and Practice of Brewing course about the chemistry, biology, food science and engineering of beer brewing.  Seeing steer Josh Peschel, professor of agricultural and biosystems engineering, is optimizing the placement of cameras in steer feeding operations and using new computer vision algorithms to understand and improve livestock health.  Every last spud Using drone technology to fly over fields to check for any sweet potatoes left behind after machine harvest, Dirk Maier and Lie Tang, professors of agricultural and biosystems engineering, are working to maximize crops collected and consumed – and prevent food waste.  A cup of cure Tom Mansell, associate professor of chemical and biological engineering, is creating new probiotic-prebiotic pairs that can be engineered to make disease-fighting drugs right in the gut, like antimicrobial peptides or anti-inflammatories. Sweet process After a 30-year career in chocolate manufacturing, John Kaiser, professor of practice in chemical and biological engineering, now teaches students the chocolate process from pods to the finished product. 

    • Man having conversation with student Growing companies and communities

      The Center for Industrial Research and Service connects Iowa’s small and medium manufacturers with applied research, education and technical assistance to help them grow and thrive. 

    • Landon Getting works on a project Educating future industrial engineering innovators

      “Working as an undergrad research assistant taught me to think differently, and I learned how we can design efficient systems to better conserve our resources – because I believe Cyclone Engineers have the talent and responsibility to create a better world for future generations.”