College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

Faculty Zoughi and Al Qaseer receive IEEE APS Prize Paper Award

Iowa State University Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering (ECpE) faculty Reza Zoughi and Mohammad T. Al Qaseer have been awarded the 2020 IEEE Harold A. Wheeler Applications Prize Paper Award for their outstanding work in their academic paper entitled, “A Compact Microwave Camera Based on Chaotic Excitation Synthetic-Aperture Radar (CESAR).” This award is presented …Continue reading “Faculty Zoughi and Al Qaseer receive IEEE APS Prize Paper Award”

Katelyn Brinker, CNDE grad student, receives second NASA fellowship

Katelyn Brinker, a graduate student in electrical engineering, has received a second NASA Space Technology Research Fellowship (NSTRF). The fellowship will support Brinker’s Ph.D. research developing chipless RFID nondestructive evaluation techniques, incorporating new tag designs and microwave imaging to increase utility.

Q&A with Ph.D. student in materials science and engineering Trishelle Copeland-Johnson

Trishelle Copeland-Johnson is a Ph.D. student in materials science and engineering (MSE). She is currently researching the explosions at the Fukushima Daiichi Power Plant in 2011, and she recently was awarded the American Society for Nondestructive Testing (ASNT) Fellowship.

Reza Zoughi joins Iowa State as Center for Nondestructive Evaluation director and Kirby Gray (Battelle) Chair

Reza Zoughi, a research and teaching leader in nondestructive evaluation, has joined Iowa State University as the director of the Center for Nondestructive Evaluation and the Kirby Gray (Battelle) Chair in Engineering in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering.

MSE Ph.D. student wins Best Presentation Award

Aishwarya Sriraman, a doctoral student with Iowa State University‘s Department of Materials Science and Engineering, recently received the Best Presentation Award in the Doctoral Symposium associated with the Prognostics and Health Management (PHM) Conference 2018 held in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. The conference, which took place Sept. 24-27, 2018, brought together the global community of PHM experts …Continue reading “MSE Ph.D. student wins Best Presentation Award”

MSE GOLD strengthens alumni-student relations

MSE GOLD, Materials Science and Engineering Graduates of the Last Decade group, continues the strong MSE student community into alumni life at Iowa State University. The MSE GOLD program allows alumni to reconnect with friends, network and share opportunities with other alumni and student mentees. “I think one of the great things about MSE GOLD is that it gives …Continue reading “MSE GOLD strengthens alumni-student relations”

New Applied Nondestructive Testing and Evaluation Course – TSM 449X/549X

David Eisenmann, associate scientist in the Center for Nondestructive Evaluation, was selected to receive the 2018 American Society for Nondestructive Testing (ASNT) Faculty Grant Award for the development of a new course in Applied Nondestructive Testing/Evaluation – a Technology Systems Management (TSM) course currently offered as TSM 493C/593C, Workshop in Technology: Manufacturing. The new course …Continue reading “New Applied Nondestructive Testing and Evaluation Course – TSM 449X/549X”

Collins named next director of Center for Nondestructive Evaluation

Peter Collins will serve as the new director of Iowa State University College of Engineering’s Center of Nondestructive Evaluation starting on May 16. “CNDE has worked become a true national asset. It is exciting to be part of that and to take on this new role,” said Collins, Al and Julie Renken Professor in Materials …Continue reading “Collins named next director of Center for Nondestructive Evaluation”

Q&A with Hossein Taheri

Hossein Taheri will complete his PhD in mechanical engineering at the end of the summer. He is also a recent recipient of the 2018 Young NDT (Nondestructive Testing) Professional Recognition award from the American Society of Nondestructive Testing (ASNT). Taheri, who was co-advised by Timothy Bigelow and Leonard Bond, will work as a nondestructive evaluation (NDE) research …Continue reading “Q&A with Hossein Taheri”

ME grad student receives two awards

Mechanical engineering graduate student Hossein Taheri recently received two awards in his field of research. Taheri, a PhD candidate, received a National Science Foundation (NSF) student grant for the POWDERMET2018 and AMPM2018 conferences as well as the R. Bruce Thompson Graduate Fellowship award from ISU’s Center for Nondestructive Evaluation (CNDE). The NSF student grant will provide Taheri funding …Continue reading “ME grad student receives two awards”

Baquera earns CNDE Trapp Graduate Fellowship Award

The Center for Non-Destructive Engineering (CNDE) awarded Mica Baquera with the 2017-18  Trapp Graduate Fellowship award. The Fellowship is funded through the generosity of Orlin D. Trapp and Onnolee U. Trapp and is awarded to a graduate students with a research appointment in the Center for Nondestructive Evaluation. The Trapp Family have had a long …Continue reading “Baquera earns CNDE Trapp Graduate Fellowship Award”

CNDE announces new associate directors

The Center for Nondestructive Evaluation has announced the appointment of three new associate directors, Prof’s Peter Collins (MSE), Stephen Holland (AerE) and Simon Laflamme (CCEE). These appointments aim to strengthen CNDE’s faculty engagement and growth in activities as it moves forward in alignment with both the University and College level grand challenge theme in advanced materials and …Continue reading “CNDE announces new associate directors”