College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

CBE’s Mallapragada, Narasimhan elected AIChE fellows

American Institute of Chemical Engineers logo

Two Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering (CBE) faculty members have been recently elected fellows of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers (AIChE).

Surya Mallapragada
Surya Mallapragada
Balaji Narasimhan
Balaji Narasimhan (Christopher Gannon/Iowa State University)

Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering, Carol Vohs Johnson Chair and Iowa State Associate Vice President for Research Surya Mallapragada; and Anson Marston Distinguished Professor in Engineering and Vlasta Klima Balloun Faculty Chair Balaji Narasimhan have both achieved the position of honor in the highly regarded chemical engineering organization.

Mallapragada and Narasimhan have been part of ISU CBE for more than 20 years. Mallapragada’s research interests include polymeric nanobiomaterials for drug, gene, and vaccine delivery; neural tissue engineering; and bio-inspired materials. She has authored more than 185 publications and is editor of Materials Science and Engineering: R: Reports. She has been a leader of AIChE’s Food, Pharmaceutical and Bioengineering Division and also served on the Executive Board of AIChE’s Program Committee.

Narasimhan leads the Nanovaccine Institute, which is a consortium of 79 researchers at 23 universities, research institutes, national laboratories and companies and is coordinated by Iowa State University. His research combines materials chemistry, nanotechnology, and medicine and focuses on the molecular design of nanoparticle-based technologies to prevent and treat disease. Work coordinated by the institute includes developing medication and new delivery methods to treat such things as respiratory infections (including coronavirus), neural disorders, tropical diseases, cancer, aging, and animal health.

American Institute of Chemical Engineers logoFellow is AIChE’s highest grade of membership and is achieved only through nomination and election by the organization’s Board of Directors. Fellows are an important resource for AIChE in providing experience-based guidance to leadership and members, as well as contributing to the activities of many AIChE entities.

Mallapragada and Narasimhan join Rodney Fox and Andrew Hillier as current CBE faculty who are AIChE Fellows.

View Mallapragada’s and Narasimhan’s fellowship announcements.