College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

Four from ECpE earn NSF CAREER Awards

Four researchers in the Iowa State Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering were awarded the prestigious National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) award in 2012. Santosh Pandey, Aditya Ramamoorthy, Umesh Vaidya and Joseph Zambreno each earned awards and pushed the department’s total number of NSF CAREER Awards to 16. The four awards represent …Continue reading “Four from ECpE earn NSF CAREER Awards”

Improving the capabilities of atomic force microscopy

A series of algorithms being developed by Aditya Ramamoorthy could make using atomic force microscopes (AFMs) significantly faster when imaging and characterizing soft materials. Ramamoorthy, assistant professor of electrical and computer engineering, has support from a $413,000 National Science Foundation (NSF) CAREER award to work on the project “Joint topographic imaging and characterization using atomic force …Continue reading “Improving the capabilities of atomic force microscopy”

Rajan, inter-university research group awarded grant to extend DARPA project

Working with professors from Stanford University, the University of California Berkeley, and the University of Washington, Krishna Rajan is developing a new materials science paradigm to design advanced devices made from nano and microelectromechanical systems (N/MEMS). The project is funded by the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA).