College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

NASA selects three ISU researchers for EPSCoR funding

Ashraf Bastawros
Ashraf Bastawros

Department of Aerospace Engineering T.A. Wilson Professor of Aerospace Engineering Ashraf Bastawros is one of three individuals from Iowa State University who have been selected for NASA EPSCoR’s Fiscal Year 2022 Rapid Response Research (R3).

The Iowa Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research (EPSCoR) is a federal-state partnership aimed at increasing Iowa’s national research competitiveness and building research and development capacity in Iowa. The Rapid Response Research(R3) funding is a collaborative effort between NASA EPSCoR programs and NASA mission Directorate Programs, to solve program and mission problems for NASA. The application for funding is an annual competitive process.

Bastawros’ research proposal deals with materials commonly used in aerospace engineering and is titled “Deformation and Flow Characterization of Composite Materials for LS-DYNAMIC MAT213 Model.”

Iowa EPSCoR logoTodd Kingston of Iowa State’s Department of Mechanical Engineering and Jun Cui of Materials Science and Engineering were also among those in Iowa selected for their proposal, “Exploiting Hydrodynamic Oscillations of Oscillating Heat Pipes for Thermomagnetic Power Generation from Low-grade Waste Heat.” All award recipients will work with NASA representatives for the funded research for the next year.

Sara Nelson, interim director of the Iowa Space Grant Consortium, based in the Department of Aerospace Engineering, states, “We are thrilled NASA has chosen three ISU researchers for this award. We look forward to working closely with NASA on these three innovative research proposals.” 

The goal of the R3 program is to develop close collaborations among NASA, industry and university faculty to solve specific current NASA research challenges. For more information on Rapid Response Research opportunities and further funding opportunities through Iowa EPSCoR. Learn more.