College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

Engineering grad students receive GPSS teaching, research and leadership awards

Seven engineering graduate students were the recipients of Iowa State University Graduate and Professional Student Senate awards for excellence in teaching, research and leadership.

Teaching Award winners included Veera Sajjanapu, aerospace engineering; Amir Malakooti, civil, construction and environmental engineering; and Brady Nahkala, agricultural and biosystems engineering.  

Research Award winners included Andrew Martin, material science and engineering; Vignesh Suresh, mechanical engineering; and Yogirag Sargam, civil, construction and environmental engineering. 

Steven de Alwis, mechanical engineering, received a Leadership Award, for demonstrating outstanding leadership for at least two semesters at Iowa State.

Applicants can be nominated by a faculty member, fellow students, or can be self-nominated. Winners are awarded a certificate and $150.