College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

MSE’s Collins wins two awards for high-impact paper

Peter Collins

Peter CollinsPete Collins, Alan and Julie Renken Professor of Materials Science and Engineering at Iowa State University, received two awards for the significance of his paper “Understanding the Interdependencies Between Composition, Microstructure, and Continuum Variables and Their Influence on the Fracture Toughness of α/β-Processed Ti-6Al-4V,” co-authored with Santhosh Koduri and Vikas Dixit with Intel Corp and Hamish Fraser of Ohio State University.

Metallic materials can break unexpectedly when there are cracks present. The measure of this behavior is known as fracture toughness. Fracture toughness is challenging to understand from a fundamental scientific perspective, because the physics that operate during fracture range from the atomic scale to the part scale. This paper presented a new way of solving complex, multi-scaled problems to determine which physics may be the most important and provides a path towards designing new materials.

First awarded in 1922, the American Society for Metals (ASM) Henry Marion Howe Medal is given in memory of Henry Marion Howe, a distinguished teacher, writer, metallurgist and consultant, to honor the authors whose papers have been selected as the best of those published in Metallurgical and Materials Transactions.

The AIME (American Institute of Mining, Metallurgical, and Petroleum Engineers) Champion H. Mathewson Award was established to honor Champion H. Mathewson, President of the Institute in 1943. This award recognizes a paper or series of closely related papers with at least one common author that represents the most significant contribution to scientific findings that promote broad engineering application of metallic materials in the award period.

Collins joined Iowa State’s Department of Materials Science and Engineering in 2015. He successfully led the Center for Nondestructive Evaluation at Iowa State for 1.5 years. Collins received his undergraduate degree in metallurgical engineering from the Missouri University of Science and Technology (previously Missouri-Rolla) and his master’s degree and Ph.D. from Ohio State University in materials science and engineering. Prior to joining Iowa State, he was a faculty member and undergraduate coordinator at the University of North Texas.

Collins received the Henry Marion Howe Medal at the ASM International Awards Dinner in Portland, Oregon, early in October. He will receive the AIME Champion H. Mathewson Award at the TMS-AIME Awards Ceremony held during the TMS 2020 Annual Meeting & Exhibition. TMS 2020 will be held from Feb. 23–27, 2020, in San Diego, California.