College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

CBE grads honored for College of Engineering awards

The Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering has honored three of its alumni receiving awards on homecoming weekend. Michael Anctil (B.S. ’08), Brian Anderson (Ph.D. ’02) and Maria Westfall (B.S. ’77) were recognized in a CBE reception prior to the university awards ceremony October 25.

Anctil (technical operations lead, Merck), is a recipient of the College of Engineering Young Alumni Award. Anderson (senior director – drug products, AbbVie) and Westfall (retired from 3M Health Care) are recipients of the Professional Achievement Citation in Engineering (PACE) Award.

Read more about the three CBE alums and other College of Engineering awardees here.

PACE Award recipient Brian Anderson (right) chats with faculty member Brent Shanks at the department reception.
James L. and Katherine S. Melsa Dean of Engineering Sam Easterling (right) joined the CBE awardee reception. He’s shown with Outstanding Young Alumni Award recipient Michael Anctil (left) and Reginald R. Baxter Endowed Department Chair Andrew Hillier.
Department alumni honored Oct. 25 included Brian Anderson (second from left), with nominator Surya Mallapragada (far left) and Michael Anctil (second from right) with his nominator Andrew Hillier.