College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

Hartmann and Laflamme honored at Iowa State Annual Awards


Beth Hartmann and Simon Laflamme

Congratulations to Simon Laflamme and Beth Hartmann for being honored at the Iowa State University Annual Awards. Laflame is an associate professor with the Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering (CCEE), who also holds a courtesy appointment with the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering. He received the Award for Early Achievement in Research, which recognizes a tenured or tenure-track faculty member who has demonstrated outstanding accomplishments unusually early in his or her professional career. Hartmann is a senior lecturer of CCEE, and received the Award for Academic Advising Impact. This award recognizes outstanding performance by an academic advisor over an extended period of time. Hartmann and Laflamme received their awards on Sept. 29 and are pictured with Interim President Ben Allen.