College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

IMSE professors honored at Engineering Convocation

Dr. Sarah Ryan and Dr. Cameron MacKenzie were honored by Dean Rajala at the 2017 College of Engineering Convocation.

Cameron MacKenzie, assistant professor of industrial and manufacturing systems engineering, and Sarah Ryan, Joseph Walkup Professor, were honored at the 2017 College of Engineering Convocation.

The annual ceremony, hosted by James L. and Katherine S. Melsa Dean of Engineering Sarah Rajala, recognizes faculty and staff achievements over the past year. The convocation is also a time for Dean Rajala to provide an update on the goals for the College in the coming year.

Dr. MacKenzie received The Black & Veatch Fellowship, which provides support to faculty who work to create innovations that address the long-term needs for sustainable infrastructure. MacKenzie’s research focuses on decision and risk analysis, with an emphasis on modeling the economic and business impacts caused by disruptions.

Dr. Ryan was also honored, receiving the D.R. Boylan Eminent Faculty Award for Research. This award recognizes faculty for their dedication to academic excellence through research. Dr. Ryan’s research examines the planning and operation of manufacturing and service systems under uncertainty.