ME’s Heise wins Superior Engineering Extension Award

Mechanical engineering lecturer Jim Heise teaches a class
ME senior lecturer Jim Heise teaches a class. Photo by Dan McClanahan.

Jim Heise – a senior lecturer in mechanical engineering – is the 2017 recipient of the College of Engineering’s Superior Engineering Extension Award.

This honor is awarded “[i]n recognition of demonstrated superior extension performance as shown by responsiveness to client needs, innovative and resourceful programming, appropriate use of delivery methods, client satisfaction, and dedication to the extension mission of the College of Engineering.” Recipients also participate in and contribute to “extension related activities on-campus and beyond through service collaboration and/or publications.”

This award is available to College of Engineering faculty members “who [have] made substantial contributions to the extension, outreach, and technology transfer mission of the University.” In recognition of his service, Heise will receive a $500 honorarium as well as a plaque. Heise – along with ME  assistant professor Nicole Hashemi – will be recognized during the College of Engineering’s Fall Convocation scheduled for September 7.

Heise, who joined the ISU faculty in 2006, holds a BS and MS in mechanical engineering both from Iowa State. 

4 thoughts on “ME’s Heise wins Superior Engineering Extension Award

  1. Congratulations James! I’m proud to know that you are making a big difference in the lives of your students and the organizations your work with. Way to go!

  2. This is indeed a surprise and greatly appreciated. I will say that this award is really the result of a team effort. I could not do what I do without the support of the following people:
    Carey Novak – Industrial Specialist – CIRAS
    Dr. Sarah Rajala – Dean – College of Engineering
    Dr. Ron Cox – Director of CIRAS
    Dr. Jonathan Wickert – VP/Provost (as Dept Chair – M E)
    Dr. Caroline Hayes – Dept Chair – M E
    Dr. Ted Heindel – Interim Dept Chair – M E
    M E Capstone Instruction Team –
    – Dr. Emmanuel Agba – Senior Lecturer – M E
    – Dr. Jacqulyn Baughman – Senior Lecturer – M E
    – Dr. Greg Luecke – Associate Professor – M E
    – Scott Merkle – Senior Lecturer – M E
    – Mike Messman – Senior Lecturer – M E
    – Neely Lehman – Admin Spec II – M E
    – Deb Schroeder – Clerk IV – M E
    – Mary Bilstad – Prog Coord 1 – M E
    – Sandy Bremer – Prog Coord II – M E
    – Craig Severson – Teaching Lab Coord – M E
    – Josh Delarm – Teaching Lab Coord – M E

    All these individuals played a fundamental role in setting up and supporting the M E Capstone Senior Design Program and its industry sponsored projects programs. Without them, I could not do what I do. My heartfelt thanks to all these individuals and the work they do in support of this excellent extension outreach program that is part of our engineering education experience!

Comments are closed.