College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

ME’s Chandra receives lifetime achievement award from ASME


Mechanical engineering professor Abhijit Chandra has received a prestigious award from a top organization in his field.

Earlier this month, Chandra received the Excellence in Mechanics Award from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers’ (ASME) Electronic and Photonic Packaging Division. This lifetime achievement award was bestowed upon Chandra because of advancements he has made in the areas of life prediction of devices and in semiconductor manufacturing.

This honor is awarded to just one individual annually. The Excellence in Mechanics Award was established in 1994 and recognizes achievement in the area of engineering and science of Structural Mechanics of electronic systems.

Chandra joined in the Iowa State University faculty in 1999. He holds a Ph.D. in Theoretical and Applied Mechanics from Cornell University.