College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

Mickelson and Maier elected Fellows of the ASABE

(left to right) Steve Mickelson, chair of agricultural and biosystems engineering and Charles R. and Jane F. Olsen Professor, and Dirk Maier, professor of agricultural and biosystems engineering, have been elected Fellows of the American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers.

As ASABE‘s highest honor, the organization “defines a Fellow as a member of unusual professional distinction, with outstanding and extraordinary qualifications and experience in, or related to, the field of agricultural, food, or biological systems engineering. They possess a minimum of 20 years of active practice in, or related to, the profession of engineering; the teaching of engineering; or the teaching of an engineering-related curriculum and a minimum of 20 years as an active Member-Engineer or Member in ASABE.”

Mickelson and Maier were inducted in a ceremony held at the ASABE annual international conference in Detroit. Of the just 13 ASABE members elected Fellows this year, two were Iowa State faculty.