College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

Wlezien elected to AIAA Board of Directors

Rich Wlezien

The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) announced today the results of its 2015 Board of Directors election. Richard Wlezien, department chair of aerospace engineering, has been elected to vice president-elect of education. The newly elected board members will begin their terms of office on May 7.


  • James “Jim” Maser, Pratt & Whitney

Vice President-Elect, Education

  • Richard Wlezien, Iowa State University

Vice President-Elect, Public Policy

  • John Rose, The Boeing Company


  • Ben Marchionna, Lockheed Martin Corporation

Director–At-Large, International

  • Christian Mari, SAFRAN Group

Director–Technical, Aerospace Design and Structures Group

  • Achille Messac, Mississippi State University

Director–Technical, Aerospace Sciences Group

  • Jim Keenan, U.S. Army, Aviation and Missile Research, Development, and Engineering Center

Director–Region 2

  • Mark Whorton, Teledyne Brown Engineering

Director–Region 3

  • Daniel Jensen, Rolls-Royce Corporation

Director–Region 6

  • L. Jane Hansen, HRP Systems Inc.

“Congratulations to all of the newly elected Directors,” said AIAA President Jim Albaugh. “Your election reflects the confidence that the AIAA membership has in your abilities and also your commitment to the aerospace industry. I look forward to working with all of you.”

AIAA is the world’s largest aerospace professional society, serving a diverse range of more than 30,000 individual members from 88 countries, and 95 corporate members. AIAA members help make the world safer, more connected, more accessible, and more prosperous. For more information, visit

To read the original AIAA press release, click here.