College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

CoE learning community mentors honored

2012 Exemplary Mentors

The 11th annual Learning Communities Peer Mentor Recognition Ceremony was held Wednesday, April 4, at Hixson-Lied Student Success Center. At the ceremony, 24 of the 300 student learning community mentors were named Exemplary Mentors.

2012 Exemplary Mentors
Photo provided by Learning Communities

These students were nominated by their learning community coordinator and at least one other student in the learning community. Exemplary Mentors have shown excellence in programming, team building, interpersonal interaction, leadership, academic assistance, classroom presentations, or tutoring.

Among the 24 Exemplary Mentors, five were from engineering:

  • Mark Deaton, Chemical Engineering Freshmen
  • Matthew Hansen, Agricultural Engineering
  • Kate Lindley, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Sam Reeve, Materials Science and Engineering
  • Kurt Townsend, Agricultural Engineering

In addition to the students honored at the ceremony, several peer mentor supervisors were also awarded for their excellence, three of which were from the College of Engineering:

  • Amy Kaleita, associate professor, agricultural and biosystems engineering
  • Andrea Klocke, academic advisor, materials science and engineering
  • Kelsey Smyth, academic advisor, undeclared engineering