College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

IMSE students, faculty recognized by industrial engineering professional society

The logo for the Institute of Industrial & Systems EngineersEleven students and faculty members from Iowa State University’s Department of Industrial and Manufacturing Systems Engineering (IMSE) were named award winners during the Institute of Industrial & Systems Engineers (IISE) annual conference earlier this summer. This year’s award winners are listed alphabetically below:

Matthew Frank, John B. Slater Professor in Sustainable Design & Manufacturing – Outstanding Regional Level Faculty Advisors Award (North Central Region)

Liangkui Jianggraduate student – Best Student Paper Award in Manufacturing & Design Track

Xiaoshi Guo, graduate student – Best Student Paper Award in Engineering Economy Track

Sarah Ryan, Interim Department Chair and Joseph Walkup ProfessorWellington Award for outstanding long-term contributions and service in the field of engineering economy

Hosseinali Salemi, graduate student, and Danial Davarnia, assistant professor – Finalist, Best Paper Award in Energy Systems Track

Xiao Zhang, Weijun Shen and Xuepeng Jiang, graduate students; and Hantang Qin, assistant professor, and Qing Li, assistant professor – Best Paper in Manufacturing & Design Track