College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

Winners announced for Eighth Annual ISU CCEE Graduate Student Research Showcase

ISU CCEE students showcase their research efforts with faculty, alumni and other students. Photos courtesy of Xuewei Liang. 

On Jan. 24, the Iowa State University Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering (ISU CCEE) Graduate Student Council hosted its annual research showcase and poster competition. The competition was held in Howe Hall Atrium on Iowa State University’s campus. It was the eighth consecutive year that the ISU CCEE Graduate Student Research Showcase has taken place.

The showcase allowed students to highlight their efforts in different focus areas of ISU CCEE. The event had about 60 participants, including both graduate and undergraduate students. The showcase was examined by 30 Iowa State faculty and alumni judges. More than 100 people attended the event. Prizes were awarded to the top participants in each specialization, including transportation, structures, environmental/water resources, geotechnical/materials, construction, and intelligent infrastructure engineering. 

The event was made possible by the following sponsors: Greenwood Department Chair in Civil Engineering, Cerwick Faculty Professorship in Environmental Engineering, W.A. Klinger Teaching Professorship in Civil  Engineering, Paulsen Fellow in Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering, Gerald and Audrey Olson Professorship in Civil Engineering, Wilson Endowed Engineering Professorship, and Terry Wipf – Bridge Engineering Center. 

Results of the CCEE Graduate Student Research Showcase are below. Follow ISU CCEE on FacebookTwitter and LinkedIn (search “Iowa State University Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering” and “ISUConE”). NEW: now follow ISU CCEE on Snapchat and Instagram for the latest updates. Find our website at

Construction Engineering:

First Place- Jaime Schussler of the construction engineering focus area

Second place – Sajed Sadati

Environmental Engineering:

First Place- Sina Moharramzadeh of the environmental engineering focus area

Second place – Parker Dulin


First place-Haluk Sinan Coban of the geotechnical/materials focus area

Structural Engineering:

First place-Cole Shurbert-Hetzel of the structural engineering focus area

Second place – Dikshant Singh Saini

Transportation Engineering:

First place- Georges Boa Saab of the transportation engineering focus area

Intelligent Infrastructure:

First place – Laura Micheli of the intelligence infrastructure focus area

Second place – Yicheng Yang

People’s Choice:

Archana Venkatachalapathy