College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

Ames Laboratory’s Thiel winner of 2014 Welch Award

Written by Breehan Gerleman Lucchesi, U.S. Department of Energy’s Ames Laboratory, Public Affairs

PatThiel300Pat Thiel has been named the 2014 winner of the AVS Medard W. Welch Award, which recognizes outstanding research in the fields of materials, interfaces and processing.

Thiel, who is a faculty scientist at the U.S. Department of Ames Laboratory and a Distinguished Professor of chemistry and of materials science and engineering at Iowa State University, is recognized for her “seminal contributions to the understanding of quasicrystalline surfaces and thin-film nucleation and growth.”

“We congratulate Pat on the Welch Award and for her outstanding contributions to the field of surface chemistry. Pat’s work in understanding of quasicrystals and nano particles on metal and semiconductor surfaces,” said Adam Schwartz, director of the Ames Laboratory.

The Welch Award was established in 1969. Thiel is the first woman to win the Welch Award in its 44-year history.

“This award is defined by the people who won it before me. They have been the giants in the field of surface science. I am humbled and honored to be joining their ranks. The award really recognizes much more than me. It recognizes my many talented coworkers and the agencies that have enabled our work, especially the Department of Energy and the National Science Foundation,” said. Thiel.

“Pat has been a leader at ISU and in surface science for years. We know how outstanding she is here on campus – she is a Distinguished Professor for good reason. It’s extremely gratifying to see her outstanding work being recognized by her scientific colleagues around the world as well,” said William Jenks, professor and chair of the ISU Department of Chemistry.

The story first appeared here.