College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

Four from CoE honored with Distinguished Alumni Awards

Dennis Muilenburg, Leonard Rodman, Richard Stanley, Elizabeth Anderlik

Each spring, the ISU Alumni Association honors alumni and friends at the Distinguished Alumni Awards Celebration. On April 20, 2012, the university will present its highest awards, including the Distinguished Alumni Award, Honorary Alumni Award, and Order of the Knoll Awards. This year, four alumni and friends of the College of Engineering will be honored with awards.

Dennis A. Muilenburg (BSAerE’86), Leonard C. Rodman (BSCE’71), and Richard H. Stanley (BSME/BSECpE’55) will receive the Distinguished Alumni Award, the highest honor given to Iowa State alumni that recognizes preeminent contributions to their professions or life’s work.

Elizabeth Anderlik will receive the Honorary Alumni Award, given to individuals who are not graduates of Iowa State University and who have made significant contributions to Iowa State’s welfare, reputation, prestige, and pursuit of excellence.

Anderlik assisted in creating engineering and teaching laboratories in Town Engineering along with her late husband, Joseph Anderlik, a 1954 civil engineering graduate. Their work resulted in the Joseph C. and Elizabeth A. Anderlik Teaching Laboratory, which is equipped for air, water, and wastewater analysis. Over 200 students use the facility each year, and every civil engineering undergraduate is required to take a beginning environmental engineering course in the lab. Before Joseph’s death, the couple also established a teaching award, a scholarship, and an endowed equipment fund, and contributed to the Engineering Teaching and Research Complex fund.

View the complete list of 2012 Award Recipients.