College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

Four engineering alums to receive awards during Homecoming

Michael Steffenson (BSChemE’59), this year’s recipient of the Anson Marston Medal, heads a list of College of Engineering alumni who will receive awards as part of Iowa State’s 2010 Homecoming activities.

Umit Ozkan (PhDChemE’84) will receive the college’s Professional Achievement Citation in Engineering (PACE) award. Benjamin C. Bruns (BSConE’01) and Francis L. de los Reyes III (MSCE’94) each will receive the Outstanding Young Alumni Award.

All of the awards will be presented at the 79th Annual Honors & Awards Ceremony at Ames’ Cornerstone Church on Friday, Oct. 29 at 1:30 p.m.

The Anson Marston medal was established in 1938 in recognition of outstanding achievement in advancing engineering science, technology, or policy having national and international impact in academics, industry, public service, government, or other venues.

Steffenson is president and chairman of Parr Instrument Company in Moline, Ill. The company, which manufactures bomb calorimeters and pressure reaction equipment for use in chemical laboratories, is recognized as a world leader in both fields. Steffenson has been active in technical sales and management with Parr for 48 years. He has also served in a number of industry and civic leadership capacities in the Quad Cities community and was recognized in 2007 as a laureate in the Junior Achievement regional Business Hall of Fame.

Ozkan, the PACE awardee, is a professor of chemical engineering at Ohio State University, is recognized for her research in heterogeneous catalysis with applications in energy and environmental protection. A professional engineer registered in Ohio, she has edited seven books, written more than 150 refereed publications and book chapters, and given hundreds of conference presentations and invited lectures in 25 different countries. PACE was established in 1968 to recognize superior technical or professional accomplishments in research, development, administration, education, and other engineering activities; the citation recognizes alumni/alumnae eminently known for their professional competence and creativity.

The Outstanding Young Alumni Award, one of the most prestigious awards given to alumni by the ISU Alumni Association, was established in 1968 to recognize ISU alumni, age 40 and under, who have excelled in their professions and provided service to their communities.

Bruns is a project manager for The Weitz Company in Des Moines who specializes in construction projects for educational institutions, including successful projects at Iowa State. He is extensively involved with university activities, including the ISU Letterwinners Club, and is a board member for Children and Families of Iowa, a volunteer football coach at West Des Moines Valley High School, and the football sideline reporter for the Cyclone Radio Network.

de los Reyes is an associate professor of civil, construction, and environmental engineering at North Carolina State University, where he is recognized as an international expert on drinking water treatment, wastewater treatment management, and environmental microbiology and has used his expertise to help solve water and sanitation issues in developing nations.

For more information on the 2010 Honors and Awards Ceremony, visit