Category: Mechanical Engineering

ME professor awarded patent for lignin conversion process

Mechanical Engineering Assistant Professor Xianglan Bai has been awarded a patent for a process she has developed to convert lignin into precursors of biofuels and chemicals. U.S. Patent 10,190,053, entitled “Pyrolysis of Lignin,” is one of the products of her research group in developing biobased chemicals and fuels. Bai was issued the patent in collaboration … Continue reading ME professor awarded patent for lignin conversion process

ME’s Ted Heindel named University Professor

Iowa State faculty and staff will be honored during the university’s annual awards ceremony on Sept. 23.  Theodore Heindel, Bergles Professor of Thermal Science and professor of mechanical engineering, will be bestowed the title of “University Professor” at the ceremony. The title of University Professor is awarded to a faculty member who has acted as … Continue reading ME’s Ted Heindel named University Professor

Three ME students win awards at 2019 GPSS Conference

Mechanical engineering graduate students had a strong showing at Iowa State University’s 2019 Graduate and Professional Student Senate (GPSS) Conference, taking home three prizes. Alex Wrede, a Ph.D. student, took home the top-prize in the 3 Minute Thesis (3MT) category for his presentation entitled “Characterizing the Response of the Brain to Surrounding Cavitation.” “In summary, … Continue reading Three ME students win awards at 2019 GPSS Conference

New ME scholarship named for longtime faculty member

The Judith M. Vance Scholarship was established earlier this semester to honor ME alum and longtime faculty member Judy M. Vance. She holds a B.S., M.S., and Ph.D. all in mechanical engineering from Iowa State University. Vance, who is currently the Joseph C. and Elizabeth A. Anderlik Professor of Engineering and a Faculty Fellow of … Continue reading New ME scholarship named for longtime faculty member

Nikita Kozak receives Goldwater Scholarship

Nikita Kozak, a junior in mechanical engineering from Waukee, Iowa, has received a Goldwater Scholarship, the nation’s premier undergraduate scholarship in mathematics, natural sciences and engineering. He was selected on the basis of academic merit from a field of 1,223 nominees nationwide.

W. Samuel Easterling

New dean announced

W. Samuel Easterling from Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University has been named the next James L. and Katherine S. Melsa Dean of Engineering. Easterling, Montague-Betts Professor of Structural Steel Design and head of the Via department of civil and environmental engineering at Virginia Tech, will begin at Iowa State July 15.

Ming-Chen Hsu to Receive 2019 USACM Gallagher Young Investigator Award

Ming-Chen Hsu, assistant professor of mechanical engineering, has been awarded the 2019 U.S. Association for Computational Mechanics Gallagher Young Investigator Award, one of the most prestigious honors from the global computational mechanics’ community. The Gallagher Young Investigator Award is given to an outstanding investigator under the age of 40, who is recognized for outstanding accomplishments, particularly outstanding published papers.