Outreach and mentoring award for Professor Laura Jarboe

Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering professor Dr. Laura Jarboe has received the 2015 Leadership in Outreach & Mentoring Award from Iowa NSF EPSCoR (National Science Foundation Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research). A panel of judges selected Jarboe for the honor, stating they were impressed with her range of activities and achievement in the [Continue Reading…]

Iowa State advances expertise for national highway research program

Iowa State University transportation engineering researchers build upon a national program that aims to improve highway safety and sustainability. Four research faculty members and their student teams were recently awarded four substantial projects from the second Strategic Highway Research Program (SHRP 2). SHRP 2 combines resources from the National Research Council, the American Association of [Continue Reading…]

Steffenson Professorship elevated to Steffenson Chair for CBE’s Brent Shanks

Dr. Brent Shanks of the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering has been named the inaugural Mike & Jean Steffenson Chair. Shanks, who is also Anson Marston Distinguished Professor and Director of the NSF Engineering Research Center for Biorenewable Chemicals (CBiRC), was joined in a medallion ceremony by donors Mike and Jean Steffenson, Iowa State [Continue Reading…]

Flytzani-Stephanopoulos spotlighted as CBE Doraiswami lecturer

CBE faculty and graduate students welcomed Dr. Maria Flytzani-Stephanopoulos December 10, as she delivered a special presentation as the L.K. Doraiswamy Honor Lecturer. The L.K. Doraiswamy Honor Lectureship in Chemical Engineering selects one internationally recognized scientist or engineer each year to present lectures at Iowa State University and at the National Chemical Laboratory in Pune, [Continue Reading…]

Iowa State civil engineering graduate student showcase puts on greatest performance yet

Fifty Iowa State University graduate students showcased their research Dec. 3 at the 5th Annual Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering (CCEE) Graduate Student Research Showcase and Poster Competition. About 100 fellow students, faculty, staff, family, friends and alumni attended the event, which was held on the entire second floor of Town Engineering Building. Since 2011 [Continue Reading…]

Women Engineers Today: Meet Shauna Hallmark

The following is an excerpt from Go!, an online magazine produced by the Iowa State University Institute for Transportation intended for teens on education and career opportunities in transportation. Jacqueline Nester writes: “Science is not a boy’s game, it’s not a girl’s game. It’s everyone’s game. It’s about where we are and where we’re going,” [Continue Reading…]

Iowa State University awarded $3 million from ARPA-E for transformational energy technology

Researchers in the College of Engineering work to create a low-cost, safe and efficient sodium-based battery While lithium-ion batteries have proven their worth in storing energy on a smaller scale, Steve W. Martin says an alternative solution is necessary for storing large amounts of energy, like the gigawatts of wind energy now being harvested from [Continue Reading…]

Iowa State remembers environmental engineering pioneer Bob Baumann

The Department of Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering at Iowa State University celebrates the life of E. Robert “Bob” Baumann – international educator, engineer and pioneer of Iowa State’s environmental engineering program. He died in Ames on Oct. 23, 2015, at age 94. Baumann, Anson Marston Distinguished Professor Emeritus in civil and construction engineering, brought [Continue Reading…]

Iowa State construction director named Construction Owners Association of America president

Dean McCormick (BSConE’81), director of Iowa State University design and construction services, was recently named president of the Construction Owners Association of America (COAA) beginning in 2016. McCormick’s appointment as president was announced at COAA’s 2015 Fall Owners Leadership Conference, held in Henderson, Nev., earlier this month. COAA’s membership includes public and private owners who [Continue Reading…]

Three new staff members welcomed by Chemical and Biological Engineering

The Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering staff has grown by three in a five-day span. Janessa Boley has become the newest academic adviser to begin work in the Mike & Jean Steffenson Student Services Center in Sweeney Hall. She comes to Iowa State from Central College, where she worked in the admissions department. She [Continue Reading…]

Iowa State extends winning reign at Midwest construction management competition

Iowa State University construction engineering students won three divisions in the 23rd Annual Associated Schools of Construction (ASC) Region 4 Construction Management Student Competition. The event was held Oct. 21-24, 2015, at the Lied Lodge in Nebraska City, Neb. Iowa State won the commercial, design-build, and heavy highway divisions, and placed second in this year’s specialty [Continue Reading…]

Dean’s Blog guest post: A course in engineering for future educators

The Toying With TechnologySM (TWT) Program in the College of Engineering at ISU brings engineering education to future K-12 teachers. Larry Genalo (University Professor, Fellow of the American Society for Engineering Education, and associate chair in the MSE Department) shares some history on the program and future plans for TWT.  Recently, the State of Iowa [Continue Reading…]