College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

Welcoming Iowa State College of Engineering’s Kiewit Scholars Program 2023-2024 cohort

Kiewit Corporation Stress Balls Stock Photo
Kiewit Corporation Stress Balls Stock Photo

The Kiewit Scholars Program at Iowa State University has recently announced the selection of students for its second-year cohort. The program comprises a diverse group of individuals, including 8 incoming freshmen and 8 currently enrolled Iowa State students.

The goal of the Kiewit Scholars Program is a big one – hoping to nurture students who aspire to pursue a career in the design and construction industry. The chosen students represent various majors such as civil engineering, construction engineering, environmental engineering, electrical engineering, mechanical engineering, industrial engineering, and engineering undeclared (applicable to incoming freshmen only). The scholars’ participation is renewed on an annual basis.

Through the Kiewit Scholars Program, students receive financial support to cover their educational expenses at Iowa State University. Scholars are exposed to a range of opportunities that enable them to evolve into exceptional engineers and influential figures in the industry. Emphasizing leadership, team building, and professionalism, the program equips Kiewit Scholars with the necessary skills to address global challenges both in the present and future. In addition to academic assistance and professional development initiatives, scholars also have the opportunity to connect with Kiewit professionals, gaining valuable insights into the industry.

“We recognize and appreciate the significant positive impact that Iowa State graduates have had at Kiewit over the years,” Chris Krumwiede, senior vice president of Kiewit Infrastructure Co. (ISU class of 1998, BS Construction Engineering) said, “Through the Kiewit Scholars program, we expect to see that impact continue. We are proud to partner with ISU and demonstrate our commitment to building the next generation of Kiewit leaders.”

The following students were selected for this year’s 2023-2024 cohort:

NameMajorClassification Year
Jayce AbensMechanical EngineeringJunior
Anna BushlackCivil EngineeringFreshman
Claire HaasElectrical EngineeringJunior
Evan JohnsonEngineeringFreshman
Samuel JordanCivil EngineeringSophomore
Nellie Parsons LeavertonElectrical EngineeringJunior
Aiden LeeConstruction EngineeringFreshman
John MartinCivil EngineeringSophomore
Emilee MitchellConstruction EngineeringSophomore
Gabriela MolinaMechanical EngineeringFreshman
Grant NelsonMechanical EngineeringFreshman
Landry NortonEngineeringFreshman
Samuel SchaeferCivil EngineeringFreshman
Benjamin SmockIndustrial EngineeringJunior
Alaina SteffenMechanical EngineeringFreshman
Adam ZeitlinCivil EngineeringJunior

With the opportunity to gain hands-on, real-world experience and the chance to participate in developmental opportunities, such as guest lectures from industry professionals, group discussions, volunteer opportunities and workshops, this all-encompassing program and immersive learning experiences challenges students to achieve their best while giving them tools to succeed. 


Sarah Hays, Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering,
Sarah Eastlund, Kiewit Scholars Program, 
Jennifer Shane, Kiewit Scholars Program Faculty Coordinator