Outreach and mentoring award for Professor Laura Jarboe

Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering professor Dr. Laura Jarboe has received the 2015 Leadership in Outreach & Mentoring Award from Iowa NSF EPSCoR (National Science Foundation Experimental Program to Stimulate Competitive Research). A panel of judges selected Jarboe for the honor, stating they were impressed with her range of activities and achievement in the [Continue Reading…]

Professor hopes research will help patients, improve lives

Story originally published for Iowa State Daily by Katlyn Campbell A professor in chemical and biological engineering hopes one day to get her research FDA approved to help patients and improve lives. Surya Mallapragada earned her graduate degree from the India Institute of Technology Bombay, obtained her Ph.D. at Purdue University, had a short postdoc [Continue Reading…]

Report: Tax credit would help Iowa biochemical industry

Iowa could take a chunk of the nation’s $250 billion chemical market with greener replacements, but a state tax incentive is needed to help build the new industry, according to a report released Thursday.

Steffenson Professorship elevated to Steffenson Chair for CBE’s Brent Shanks

Dr. Brent Shanks of the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering has been named the inaugural Mike & Jean Steffenson Chair. Shanks, who is also Anson Marston Distinguished Professor and Director of the NSF Engineering Research Center for Biorenewable Chemicals (CBiRC), was joined in a medallion ceremony by donors Mike and Jean Steffenson, Iowa State [Continue Reading…]

Flytzani-Stephanopoulos spotlighted as CBE Doraiswami lecturer

CBE faculty and graduate students welcomed Dr. Maria Flytzani-Stephanopoulos December 10, as she delivered a special presentation as the L.K. Doraiswamy Honor Lecturer. The L.K. Doraiswamy Honor Lectureship in Chemical Engineering selects one internationally recognized scientist or engineer each year to present lectures at Iowa State University and at the National Chemical Laboratory in Pune, [Continue Reading…]

Iowa State, Ames Laboratory engineer developing materials for tissue engineering, vaccines

Surya Mallapragada believes in the power and potential of bio- and bio-inspired materials to improve human health. She’s been researching the materials and how they can solve biomedical problems for nearly two decades. And there are good reasons for sticking with the studies.

Engineering college names student marshal, outstanding seniors for fall 2015 commencement

Twelve seniors will be honored at this semester’s commencement ceremony

CBE Doraiswamy lecture presents Tufts’ Flytzani-Stephanopoulos

Iowa State University’s Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering welcomes Dr. Maria Flytzani-Stephanopoulos of Tufts University as this year’s L.K. Doraiswamy Honor Lectureship speaker. She will present “Heterogeneous Catalyst Design at the Single Atom Limit: A Diverse Reaction Landscape” December 10 at 11 a.m. in 2061 Sweeney Hall. The L. K. Doraiswamy Honor Lectureship in [Continue Reading…]

2015 Iowa Energy Center Impact Award Winners Announced

Every year the Iowa Energy Center selects four leaders in energy research and innovation, one for each of our main focus areas: bioenergy, education and outreach, energy efficiency and renewable energy. Two of these winners are members of Iowa State’s College of Engineering faculty.

Three new staff members welcomed by Chemical and Biological Engineering

The Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering staff has grown by three in a five-day span. Janessa Boley has become the newest academic adviser to begin work in the Mike & Jean Steffenson Student Services Center in Sweeney Hall. She comes to Iowa State from Central College, where she worked in the admissions department. She [Continue Reading…]

Wenzhen Li honored as inaugural CBE Seagrave Professor

Chemical and Biological Engineering professor Dr. Wenzhen Li has been recognized as the department’s inaugural Richard C. Seagrave Associate Professor. Dr. Li was joined in the ceremony by many individuals, including Donors Randy and Mary Jane Hagenson, honoree Richard (“Dick”) Seagrave, Iowa State University Senior Vice President and Provost Jonathan A. Wickert, Dean of the [Continue Reading…]

2015 alumni awards conferred at Homecoming

Five with ties to engineering were recognized on October 30 At the 2015 Honors and Awards Ceremony, five  engineering alumni were recognized by Iowa State University Alumni Association, the College of Business and the College of Engineering. The event, which celebrated its 84th year, was held at Benton Auditorium in the Scheman Building on Friday, [Continue Reading…]