Safety takes front seat in second phase of national highway program

Iowa State transportation engineering faculty hit high gear analyzing highway safety data in part two of second Strategic Highway Research Program (SHRP2) This semester will be busy, as Iowa State University (ISU) researchers propose traffic safety models for SHRP2, or the second Strategic Highway Research Program. “This is all about saving lives,” says Sandra Larson. [Continue Reading…]

Bridge Engineering Center receives $2.1m University Transportation Center grant for second year

Iowa State University engineers earn grant for innovative research of accelerated bridge construction (ABC) For the second year, Iowa State University’s Bridge Engineering Center has been chosen to be a partner in a United States Department of Transportation (U.S. DOT) Tier I University Transportation Center (UTC) grant. The grant brings $2.1 million to the research [Continue Reading…]

School to career: ITE Midwest Student Leadership Summit explores transportation engineering

If you’re planning to be a transportation engineer, you had better be ready to meet the challenges of changing infrastructure, growing populations and evolving technologies. “There’s lots of things happening, and all of those things have to be a part of how we tackle transportation,” JoNette Kuhnau [BSCE’2000] explained. Kuhnau is an alumna of Iowa [Continue Reading…]

ISU CCEE students earn FHWA Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship for second year running

Earning a Dwight David Eisenhower Transportation Fellowship once is outstanding. So when 2015 Eisenhower Transportation Fellows Ellen Nightingale and Patricia Thompson submitted applications for a second time this spring, they were cautiously optimistic. “We were just kind of keeping our hopes up but kind of being realistic and accepting that it would be a good [Continue Reading…]

Local man awarded as part of Top 10 Public Works Leaders of the Year

The American Public Works Association (APWA) has chosen civil engineering alum and current Institute for Transportation (InTrans) program director Paul Wiegand as one of their top 10 “Public Works Leaders of the Year.” Wiegand chose to come to Iowa State to study engineering after a childhood of “tinkering with things” on a farm. He graduated [Continue Reading…]

Kastrouni receives two honors for study in traffic and transportation engineering

CCEE graduate student Eirini Kastrouni was twice honored by the Missouri Valley chapter of the Institute of Transportation Engineers (MOVITE). Kastrouni won MOVITE’s 2011 Jan Kibbe Student Scholarship for study in traffic/transportation engineering, and she also received MOVITE’s Thomas J. Seburn Award. Read the full story.