College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

ECpE student receives IEEE award

Electrical engineering PhD candidate Yang Li has been selected to receive an IEEE Antennas and Propagation Society Doctoral Research Award for his proposal “Design of a Non-Metallic, Low-Loss Metamaterial Planar Superlens at Microwave Frequency.” The award includes a $2,500 fellowship. Li’s proposal involves creating a planar lens for super-resolution imaging (a ‘superlens’) by three-dimensional arrays …Continue reading “ECpE student receives IEEE award”

Jacobson named IEEE Fellow

Doug Jacobson, director of the Iowa State University Information Assurance Center and a university professor of electrical and computer engineering, has been named a fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE). Fellow is the highest grade of membership in IEEE. “It is an honor to be recognized among many other individuals who …Continue reading “Jacobson named IEEE Fellow”

2010 QCESC scholarship recipient a PLTW student

Michelle Brus, a senior at Davenport West High School, received a $2,000 scholarship from the QCESC (Quad City Engineering and Science Council). Throughout high school, Michelle has taken five Project Lead the Way courses. She is a member of the National Honor Society, Drama Tech Crew, and the Marching and Concert Bands, as well as a cocaptain of the …Continue reading “2010 QCESC scholarship recipient a PLTW student”