College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

ISU student travels to Capitol Hill to present research findings

Jill Schoborg, senior in chemical engineering, stood in front of an audience of peers and policy makers on Capitol Hill to present her research paper on genetically modified organisms through the Washington Internships for Students of Engineering this past summer.

Faculty receive special recognition

Ten Iowa State faculty members received special awards for the 2015-16 academic year. Three faculty each have been named Distinguished and University Professor, and four have been named Morrill Professor. They, along with other university and regent award recipients, will be honored Sept. 21 at the annual faculty and staff awards ceremony. Distinguished Professor The …Continue reading “Faculty receive special recognition”

Rollins named 2012 TBP McDonald Mentor

Derrick K. Rollins, professor of chemical and biological engineering and professor-in-charge of community-based recruitment and transition at Iowa State University, is the 2012 Tau Beta Pi (TBP)-McDonald Mentor. Established in 2005 by Marion and Capers W. McDonald and the Association, the McDonald Mentor Award recognizes engineering educators or professionals in industry, government, or service organizations who have shown true …Continue reading “Rollins named 2012 TBP McDonald Mentor”

About students, by students (Part III)

(Editor’s note: This is the third installment in a series of student profiles written by students in JLMC 321, Public Relations Writing. Our thanks to the authors, to senior lecturer Erin Wilgenbusch, to the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communications, and to the subjects. Read Part I and Part II.) Andrew Gall Leader. Driven. Inspiring. …Continue reading “About students, by students (Part III)”

College’s cabinet in place

The College of Engineering’s announcement in October that Dr. Gary Mirka has been promoted to the position of associate dean for undergraduate and graduate education capped a period of administrative changes that began last spring. Mirka, currently the John Ryder Professor and Department Chair of industrial and manufacturing systems engineering, moves into the associate dean’s …Continue reading “College’s cabinet in place”

Rollins to receive Eminent Engineers award

Professor Derrick Rollins has been selected as the recipient of the 2010 Minority Action Committee (MAC) Eminent Engineers Award presented by the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. Rollins, a professor of chemical and biological engineering (CBE), serves as professor-in-charge of community-based recruitment and transition programs for the College of Engineering. To be nominated for the …Continue reading “Rollins to receive Eminent Engineers award”