College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

ABE professor wins award for contributions to grain processing

Charles Hurburgh, a professor in the agricultural and biosystems engineering department, was recently awarded the Stanley Watson Award. Established in 2001, the Stanley Watson Award is named in honor of an early corn wet-milling pioneer who started his research at the United States Department of Agricultural (USDA) during the early 1940s. The award will be presented in November 2019.


The award recognizes outstanding American Association of Cereal Chemists International (AACCI) members who, through the application of engineering principles, have made significant contributions in the area of cereal/grain processing. Hurburgh’s research focus is in grain quality, marketing and distribution, instrumentation, quality management systems and food chain traceability.