ABE Technology Programs Recognized at ATMAE Conference

The ABE technology programs were a powerful presence at this year’s annual Association of Technology, Management, and Applied Engineering (ATMAE) Conference.  ABE attendees included 11 undergraduate ITec students, ITec academic adviser Tamara Kerns, and eight ABE and IAT graduate students. Faculty attendees were Steve Mickelson, Shweta Chopra, Steve Freeman, John Haughery, Gretchen Mosher, and Charles Schwab.

Participants received special recognition in several categories. The ITec Club robotics team earned third place overall and first place for the People’s Choice competition.  ITec student Ben Gibson also dominated the Haig Vahradian Technology Challenge, winning first place in the contest.  Dr. Freeman was honored with the Faculty Excellence award. ABE alumni Dr. David Hoffa of Johnson & Johnson earned the Exemplary Service award.  Other notable honors include the election of students Matthew Harvey and Saxon Ryan to the ATMAE Board of Directors (BOD).  Matthew will serve as the at-large representative and was elected to be the BOD Chair, while Saxon will serve as a student representative. In addition, Dr. Sai Ramaswamy, a recent graduate from our IAT program, was elected to a 2-year term with the BOD.

Left to right: Dr. John Haughery, Tristan Jones, Austin Lamphier, Emma Gallegos, Mat Bradley, Nathaniel Stewart, Michael Patten, Dr. Steven Mickelson, Nick Keech, Brett Olson, Vanessa Chapman, Benjamin Gibson, Nolan Clemons