CBE peer mentors, staff, faculty all honored at Learning Community ceremony

CBE academic advisors Janessa Boley (second from left) and Tonia Baxter (third from left) receive the Outstanding Innovation Award at the ISU Learning Communities Institute. They are joined by CBE peer mentor Victoria Kriuchkovskaia (second from right) Dr. Jennifer Leptein (far left) and Dr. Linda Doering.

A group of CBE students and advisors has been honored for their efforts in the department’s learning communities.

They were recognized with the Outstanding Innovation Award for the new transfer student learning community and international student learning community, which were introduced during the fall 2016 semester. The award was presented at the 19th Annual Iowa State Learning Communities Institute.

Members of the group are peer mentors Qiao-Ying “Jee” Jee, Wenjiao “Nikki” Chen, Victoria Kriuchkovskaia and Jamie Pryhuber; and academic advisors Tonia Baxter and Janessa Boley.

The award is presented to members of the Iowa State community who have made new and creative contributions to the university’s learning communities.

In addition, CBE professor Stephanie Loveland received the Outstanding Service Award for five years of dedication to the department’s learning communities.