College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

Graduate student in mechanical engineering named honorable mention for Zaffarano Prize

Ammar Meliabari, graduate student in mechanical engineering, was selected as an honorable mention for the 2015 Zaffarano Prize. The Zaffarano Prize recognizes superior performance in publishable research by an Iowa State graduate student. This year’s recognition continues a streak in graduate research awards for the mechanical engineering department.

In 2013, Joe Miller became the first mechanical engineering PhD student to win the Zaffarano Prize, and last year Mahdi Javanbakht won the Karas Award for Outstanding Dissertation. The Zaffarano Prize was established by Dr. Daniel Zaffarano, former vice president for research at Iowa State, who believed in disseminating research accomplishments in order to contribute to our knowledge capital. Learn more about the Zaffarano Prize here.