College of Engineering News • Iowa State University

Professor James Hill named to Council for Chemical Research

University Professor James Hill, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
University Professor James Hill, Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering

James Hill, University Professor of chemical and biological engineering at Iowa State University, was recently named to the 2014 Council for Chemical Research Governing Board of Directors.

The 8-member board comprises academic, industry and government experts in U.S. chemistry-related science and engineering.

Other newly elected members include Mark Benvenuto, professor of chemistry and department chairman at University of Detroit Mercy; Richard Brotzman, principal nanotechnology development engineer at Argonne National Laboratory; William Provine, director of science and technology external affairs at DuPont; Anne Robinson, Catherine and Henry Boh Professor of Engineering and chair of chemical and biomolecular engineering at Tulane University; Jud Virden, associate laboratory director for the Energy and Environment Directorate at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory; Chris Welch, science lead for Analytical Chemistry at Merck Research Laboratories; and Ralph Wheeler, professor and chair of the Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry at Duquesne University.

The Council for Chemical Research is a national nonprofit organization dedicated to advancing research in chemistry, chemical engineering and related disciplines.

Dr. Hill has been a faculty member in the Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering at Iowa State since 1971. He served as department chair from 2005 to 2009. His research interests lie in fluid mechanics, turbulent transport and mixing, turbulent reacting flows, computational fluid dynamics of turbulent flows, and convective transport phenomena. He earned a B.S. in chemical engineering at Stanford University and a Ph.D. in chemical engineering at University of Washington.